There is & There are

You will study There is and There are in the positive form.


There is & There are

US 50 States

Imagen: A map of the United States. Creative Commons.

Instructions: Read the text. Look at the underlined words.

The United States of America is a country located in North America in the Western Hemisphere. There are 50 individual states in the US, there is a Federal District, the capital, Washington, D. C., and there are forty-eight states connected.

Alaska is not directly connected to the other forty-eight states, but it is still located on the same continent, separated by part of Canada from the rest of the lower forty eight. Alaksa is part of the continental United States, but no the contiguous United States.

Hawaii, located far out in the Pacific Ocean, is not connected to any of the sates and is not part of the contiguous continental United States. Each of the states has its own state-level government, but the sates are unified, falling under the federal government that governs all fifty states, and is headed by the President of the United States.

About 50 States of US. Retrieved and adapted October, 2016 from:

Getting started: US 14 territories

Instructions: Read the following information about the US 14 territories:

In addition to the 50 states and Federal District, the United States has sovereignty over 14 territories. Five of them (American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands) have a permanent, nonmilitary population, while nine of the United States Minor Outlying Islands do not. With the exception of Navassa Island, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands, which are located in the Caribbean, all territories are located in the Pacific Ocean. One territory, Palmyra Atoll, is considered to be incorporated, meaning the full body of the Constitution has been applied to it; the other territories are unincorporated, meaning the Constitution does not fully apply to them.

List of states and territories of the United States. Retrieved and adapted October, 2016 from: of_the_United_States

1. There are 50 states and a federal district in the US.

2. There are 14 territories that belong to the US.

3. There is a state with a nonmilitary population.

4. There is one territory incorporated to the Constitution.

5. There are thirteen unincorporated territories.

Let’s study There is & There are.

Instructions: Look at the following information about There is and There are in the positive form:

We use There is and There are to express existence.

There is for singular statements. Example: There is a Federal District in the U.S.

There are for plural statements. Example: There are 50 states in the U.S.

Look at the word order in the positive form:

Singular There is

a book.

a table.

a backpack.

Plural There are




There is

Instructions: Make sentences with the following prompts.

an American student in the class There is
an English book There is on the table
a pencil case in my backpack There is
a dictionary in his place There is
a pencil There is next to the dictionary

There are

Instructions: Complete the following sentences:

many students in the classroom.
just two teachers there.
more girls than boys.
only three boys among them.
enough books for everybody.


Official regions of the United States

Instructions: Choose the right option (There is or There are) in the following text.

Many regions in the United States are defined in law or regulations by the federal government. There is/There are four statistical regions with nine divisions defined by the United States Census Bureau.

Thre is/There are two divisions in the Northeast Region:

Division 1: New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont).

Division 2: Mid-Atlantic (New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania).

There is/There are two divisions in the Midwest Region:

Division 3: East North Central (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin).

Division 4: West North Central (Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota).

There is/There are 3 divisions in the South Region:

Division 5: South Atlantic (Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, Virgina, Washington, D. C., and West Virginia).

Division 6: East South Central (Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, and Tennessee).

Division 7: West South Central (Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas).

There is/There are two divisions in the West Region:

Division 8: Mountain (Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming).

Division 9: Pacific (Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, and Washington).

There is/There are one territory that is not part of any census region or census division: Puerto Rico.

List of regions in the United States. Retrieved and adapted October, 2016 from: